My #$^*&%# yard!

Classes at the university wrapped up this week, and I don’t give finals until Monday.  I caught up on my grading yesterday, and supervised some projects that are still being completed (I gave extensions to several groups).

Today, I treated myself by staying home and playing golf.  I’m pleased to report that I raised the level of my game  from  horrible to mediocre.  It’s been awhile since I played merely mediocre golf.

Tomorrow, though, I have to get back to work.  Not at school–in the yard.  The lawn looks pretty good.  We’ve had lots of rain recently, and it’s greened up nicely.  I edged last weekend, and it needs it again already.  That probably won’t get done.  But I’ve got to get out the bush trimmer and tackle the ground cover we have around our trees.  Since we live on a corner lot, we have more trees than most of the neighbors’ houses.  The previous owner of our house surrounded all the trees with low stone walls, and planted leafy ground cover inside the walls.  It looks great, but it needs constant attention.  I also have to pull out the fishline trimmer to trim the spots I missed last weekend.  The trimmer works great–it’s a Black & Decker Grass Hog, which I find far superior to the Weedeater it replaced.  The problem it has is a tendency to go through the  fishing line really fast.  I reload the spool with line at least three times every time I use it.  I’m also pulling out some garden beds left by the previous owner, since neither my wife nor I have any inclination to garden.  Except that my wife got some packets of wildflower seeds as a gift, and I’ll be planting them tomorrow.  That will involve pulling out some bushes which are out of control, spading the planting area in front of the house, adding new soil–and I’ve got to get the oil changed in my car.  The bright spot in all this is that medical types say yardwork is as good a form of exercise as anything else.  I’m worn out just thinking about it.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

