On the eve of the long bike ride

My wife has been training for a 50-mile bike ride for the last several months.  She’s always preferred biking to most other kinds of exercise, except yoga, and as she geared up for this ride she continually surprised me.  The six-miles rides that left her huffing, puffing, and exhausted are now short quick after-work pick-me-ups.  For the past few weekends, she’s biked 25, 28 and 28 miles.

Tomorrow is the payoff.  It’s a charity ride, and she’s been soliciting donations to cover the $500 she is expected to raise.  Most of the money is in now.  The ride begins at 8 a.m., so I expect her to finish between 1 and 2 p.m.

Her sister is driving in from another city to be there for the finish.  We’ll head out in time to watch her cross the finish line, and take lots of pictures.  I’ll let you know how it comes out.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

