What’s on my iPod

I got a new  Video iPod for my birthday last month, a joint gift from my wife and son.  I’m not enamored of the tiny screen, and have loaded only one video into it.  But I’m working hard to get all my albums copied over.

Actually, that’s not 100% true.  The beauty of the iPod is that I can skip songs I don’t care for, which means from four to six songs on every album don’t make the cut.

The ones that do are a pretty eclectic mix, I’m happy to say.  Here are the top 10 artists on my iPod, with the names of their albums:

The Beatles                    Please Please Me, Revolver, Sgt. Pepper, Abbey Road, A Hard Day’s Night, 1

Billie Holiday                Ken Burns Jazz, Original Decca Masters

Arthur Fiedler & the Boston Pops         Gaite Parisienne & Gayne Suite

Glenn Miller                 The Big Band Legends

Aretha Franklin          The Very Best Of…

Philip Jones Brass Ensemble     Weekend Brass Trumpet Voluntary

Frank Sinatra             The Very Good Years

Professor Longhair   Rock ‘n Roll Gumbo

Roy Orbison               The All-Time Greatest Hits

Janis Joplin                Greatest Hits, Cheap Thrills

I realize that a post like this dates me somewhat.  My father got me interested in classical music, because it was what he enjoyed listening to.  The Beatles coincided with my high school years.  I like good singers who can interpret lyrics.  I think music must have a melody.  I seem to prefer listening to female singers over male, at least based on the number of songs by women in my collection, but I think it’s fair to say that I like all kinds of music.  What’s the biggest surprise on this list?

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

