Please, no copycats

I was debating whether to write about the Virginia Tech massacre.  There’s really not much to say about it that hasn’t already been said, and said better, by others.  But there is one aspect to the shootings that does worry me–the possibility of copycat incidents.

What happened at Virginia Tech was so horrific, even potentially homicidal maniacs should be put off by it.  But my faith in humankind has been shattered in the past, on a number of occasions.  If someone else opened fire somewhere else, it wouldn’t surprise me.

I am personally concerned about the possibility of a copycat killer, because I am on the faculty at a university. We have our share of sociopathic loners, although they are so few that you really take notice of them when you do spot one.  I’ll have to check into the university police department’s contingency plans in the event of such an incident here.  In the meantime, I’ll be a little more alert as I walk through our building and across the campus.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

